Home Page  MSD Webmail  PowerSchool Login  Cafeteria Menu       Contact Us  Twitter  Facebook  YouTube     
  • Frederick

Driver Education

Instructor: Tim Scanlon

Location: Veditz Building

Middle School

Department Head: Rick Ballard
Secretary:
Email: rick.ballard@msd.edu

Telephone: 410-480-4500
Videophone: 410-480-4508
Fax: 410-480-4506

Location: Main Building

Quarter Dates: 1st - 10/31; 2nd - 01/15; 3rd - 03/27; 4th - 06/05
Interim Dates: 09/29, 12/3, 2/23, 5/5

 

Academics


Procedures for Driver Education Class

When your son/daughter registers for the Driver Education class at MSD, s/he is required to bring the following documentation to the Driver Education Instructor. This documentation is needed to take a written test to obtain a Learner’s Permit if you have not already done so.

  • Valid Maryland ID card or original passport (if the student has neither of these, then the original birth certificate is needed).
  • Original Social Security card
  • DL-14A Application Form (Application for Maryland Driver License)
  • Current prescription glasses or contacts
  • Cash for the process fee in order to obtain a Learner’s Permit

The chart below outlines the responsibilities of the Driver Education Instructor, parent and the student.

TO OBTAIN A LEARNER’S PERMIT:

 

DRIVER ED INSTRUCTOR

PARENT/GUARDIAN

STUDENT

Driver Education Class

Teaches for one semester

Talk with your child about what s/he learned in class

Talk with your parents/guardian about what you learned in class. Must get a grade of 80% or higher on the MVA final exam to pass the MVA course. A passing grade for MSD is not the same as the MVA grade.

Written Test/Vision Test for the Learner’s Permit

The Driver Education Instructor will take the student to the Motor Vehicle Administration (MVA) for the test.

Provide the required documentation listed above

Study and prepare for the test. Bring your glasses/contacts, and documents.

Behind The Wheel Instruction (BTW)

Provide six (6) hours of driving instruction

Provide at least 60 hours of daytime and night time driving. Document the hours in the Rookie Driver Skills Log and Guide Practice Book.

Pass the required six hours of Behind-The-Wheel (BTW) practice with passing marks from the Instructor. Must be completed within one year of enrollment.

Fee

N/A

Parent/Guardian/Student is to pay the fee

Parent/Guardian/Student is to pay the $50 MVA fee.

After the student gets the Learner’s Permit, the students and parents/guardians are responsible to follow the procedures to obtain a Driver’s License.
For more information about the Learner’s Permit, Provisional License, and full Provisional License, below.

TO OBTAIN OR ELIGIBILITY FOR:

 

 

 

Learner’s Permit

Must be at least 15 years and nine months old. For teens that are under 18 years old, parents must be with their child when registering at the MVA the first time.

Proof of MD Residency, present at least two business letters/bills with the address identifying the applicant’s residence.

Provisional License

Must be at least 18 years old and completed the Certificate of Completion. Must pass the MVA Skills Test.

 

Full Provisional License

Must be conviction-free during the last 18 months of driving with a Provisional License.

 

Driver License Attendance Verification
Maryland State law requires all applicants for a MD Learner’s permit, under the age of 16, to demonstrate acceptable school attendance in the prior school semester. The form DL-300 must be filled out by the school and submitted as part of the application process.