Search Committee

Superintendent Search Committee
The committee members are:
  • Akilah English, Co-Chair - Board of Trustees Member
  • Krista Leitch Walker, Co-Chair - Board of Trustees Member
  • Garri Azrelyant - Parent, Frederick
  • Heather Beck - Parent, Columbia
  • Tamara Jo Coleman - Teacher, Frederick
  • Cheri Dowling - Coordinator, Family Support & Resource Center, Columbia
  • Nicole Goldberg - Teacher, Columbia
  • Carina Hed-Edington - Teacher, Columbia
  • Jo Ann Mackinson - School Counselor, Columbia
  • Brandon McMillan-Muszynski - Teacher, Frederick
  • Ann Miller - Chief Operating Officer & Chief Financial Officer
  • Lisa Pershan - IEP Coordinator, Frederick
  • Karen Price-William - Alumni
  • Lisa Smith - School Social Worker, Frederick
  • Trudy Suggs - Maryland School for the Deaf Foundation Board of Director
Call for Nominations
Interested persons are invited to submit their names for consideration as members of the Maryland School for the Deaf Superintendent Search Committee. Committee members are selected from nominations, ensuring that the composition of the search committee is diverse and representative of the MSD community.
The 15-person search committee will consist of the following members:
  • Two co-chairs: Akilah English and Krista Leitch Walker
  • Two teachers from Frederick campus
  • Two teachers from Columbia campus
  • Two staff from Frederick campus
  • Two staff from Columbia campus
  • One parent from Frederick campus
  • One parent from Columbia campus
  • One MSD alumni
  • One member from the Orioles Leadership Team
  • One member from the Maryland School for the Deaf Foundation
The deadline to submit your application has been extended to Friday, October 2, 2020.
Signed in ASL by MSD Board member Akilah English
Video Transcript in Spanish